“How Does It Feel To Get Chemo?”

27 Feb

Image

It’s a great question with many different answers, depending on the type of chemo and how each person’s body reacts to the drug they are receiving.  I reacted differently to my first chemo “cocktail” (AC) than I have to this second drug (Taxol).

After general labs (weight, blood pressure, temperature), my nurse starts my “line”.  She inserts a small, curved needle into my port, which is located near my collar bone.  It doesn’t hurt, other than a slight sting.  She draws my blood, which is analyzes by the lab.  A saline drip is started and keeps dripping for the entire treatment.

Once labs are approved, my nurse starts my premeds.  My doctor prescribed Pepcid, anti-nausea meds and a steroid, all of which help prevent nausea.  I also take Benadryl with my second chemo to help prevent any histamine response from my body. 

My nurse then puts on a blue protective outfit and gloves to start my chemo.  It takes a little over three hours to administer my Taxol.  I can’t feel the medication but I feel very jittery and shaky from the steroids.  The Benadryl makes me sleepy, so my brain is tired and wired at the same time. 

I eat lunch in my chemo chair and can walk to the restroom as needed, pulling my IV pole along with me.  I chat with my chemo buddy for the day and play on my IPad.  I’ve also met some amazing people who have been getting chemo next to me.  Overall, the experience is pretty unremarkable. 

I’ve attached a picture of my sweet nurse, Sandra, starting my 6th chemo treatment yesterday.  I’m thrilled that I only have two more to go!

Thanks for reading!

Beverly 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

